Good afternoon, blog fans!  No new artifact this week, as I am officially on vacation – but thanks to the marvels of the internet, WordPress has followed me home and I thought I should publish something.  Here are two photos for you, a little taste of the blog post I have been working on and theoretically was going to finish yesterday (but I went to the National Gallery instead).  I’ve been reading a lot of census records lately, and I am enamored of the job titles and professions noted over the years.  Below, some Montgomery County residents hard at work.

Workmen constructing Bradley Boulevard, Bethesda, 1911- 1912. Donated to MCHS by Horace E. Hampton, Sr.  The caption in the lower right corner reads “Building Boulevard on Bradly [sic] Hills, Thos. Hampton General Contractor.  Kaye Photo.”

An unidentified woman in the offices of the Enterprise Telephone Company, Sandy Spring, circa 1900-1910.  Donated by the Mutual Insurance Company.  This photo is also occasioned by the recent donation of a telephone switchboard to the Historical Society of Frederick County, of which I am highly envious.

It has occurred to me that I should have posted historic vacation photos instead.  Oh well, there’s always next summer!  If you’re at work, you can use these to think about what you would have been doing 100 years ago.  If you’re on vacation, use them to feel even better about your vacation.

